On October 31, 2019, Mario Draghi's term as President of the ECB will come to an end.

Even though Mario Draghi’s personality has had a profound impact on the way the ECB communicates and therefore acts, it is important to point out that it is a small team within the ECB Executive Board that has led the major changes in the monetary policy since 2011/2012 (first multi-year LTRO, 7 rate cuts, negative rates, Quantative Easing program). Among the architects of this policy are, of course, ECB President Mario Draghi, but also the vicepresident Vitor Constâncio, the chief economist Peter Praet and Benoit Coeuré. The mandates of these four members of the Executive Board took or will take an end between May 2018 and December 2019. Vitor Constâncio has already been replaced by the former Spanish Finance Minister Luis de Guindos. But the positions of Draghi, Praet and Coeuré will be filled by the end of the year, their terms ending respectively on October 31, May 31 and December 31.

Recall the procedure for appointing the members of the Executive Board: the member states of the eurozone propose candidates for positions to be filled and then the Eurogroup (finance ministers of the eurozone) makes a choice. Once a candidate has been chosen, the European Council consults both the European Parliament and the Governing Council of the ECB before appointing it to the Executive Board. The appointment of members to the ECB Executive Board is therefore very political.

Several balances are to be respected, in particular, the different nationalities present. Since the creation of the ECB, the four major eurozone countries (Germany, France, Italy, Spain) have almost always had a member on the Executive Board. France did not have a representative from June 2002 to November 2003 but a tacit agreement wanted Wim Duisenberg to give up his position as President of the ECB at the mid-term in favor of Jean-Claude Trichet. Spain did not have a representative on the Board between June 2012 and June 2018, and it is interesting to note that the first appointment to the Executive Board since 2014 went to a Spaniard (Luis De Guindos). An implicit rule would therefore be that the four big countries are almost always represented. With the exception of November and December 2011, there have never been two nationals from the same country on the Executive Board (Lorenzo Bini Smaghi and Mario Draghi). After Draghi, Praet and Coeuré’s departure, the three remaining members will be Luxembourgish (Yves Mersch), German (Sabine Lautenschläger) and Spanish (Luis de Guindos), which in turn favors the appointment of a French national.

Read more



CPR AM is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Amundi Group, autonomous in its development and management.
The company is supported by the leading European asset manager. CPR AM has been able to establish its footprint with its major French an international clients thanks to the combination of its historical know-how and the wealth of its expertise. Designing innovative investment solutions, advising Clients and Partners with transparency and high responsiveness while delivering superior long-term risk-adjusted returns: that it is our commitment.
Our Investment expertise spans all principal asset classes, including quantitative and thematic equities, asset allocation, fixed income and credit, money market. Each specialized management team has developed its own approach implementing adapted solutions to client’s needs : institutional investors, corporate, private banks, insurance companies or IFAs.
At the end of September, the company manages more than 46 billion euros.

View all posts


En renseignant votre adresse mail, vous acceptez de recevoir nos newsletters quotidiennes. Vous pouvez vous désinscrire à tout moment en cliquant sur le lien de nos mails ou à l’adresse contact@fundswatch.fr

Le fonds du jour